I know you’ve seen these headlines time and again, on many of my workouts, videos and articles:

shutterstock_1611020Slim Your Saddlebags! Banish Batwings! 

Lose Your Love Handles! The Skinny Jeans Workout! Blast Off Belly Fat!

So I thought I’d take a minute to share with you a little bit about why you see these kinds of phrases in my workouts and content even though those of you know me know that my message and mission is not focused simply on weight loss, but rather on helping you live healthy, happy & fit!

Ok, back to those crazy words (like inner thigh bulge – gasp!)… Like it or not, these are the search terms the general public  is Googling when it comes to finding exercises, workouts, tips and more (believe me, I wish everyone was looking for things like “how to be healthy” and not “how to fit into size-0 skinny jeans”). Using these kinds of words, phrases and terms, based on search traffic analytics and keyword tools, help us reach the broadest audience possible with our content. And I’ll admit, it may not be the most upfront technique, but unfortunately, headlines like, “The most effective way to lose belly flab is to eat less and exercise more” just don’t garner that much attention.

Instead, I’ll use terminology that is attention-grabbing and frequently searched for, and then, once I’ve got your attention, I aim to share the most accurate and up to date info possible to help you reach your goals in the safest, most realistic way (and maybe even help change a mind or two about why those skinny jeans are much less important than strength, vitality and health).

One of the best lessons I learned early on in my fitness career was that sometimes our job as industry professionals is to try to give our clients or audience what they need, but package it as what they want. Many people come to me trying to lose weight, but what they may not realize is that my primary goal is to help them first and foremost, be the healthiest and happiest version of themselves possible (and usually, weight loss is a positive side effect that occurs when we work towards this goal).

So no matter how you found me (skinny jeans search or otherwise), or what your goal is, I hope you’ll stick around. Because I’d like to help you live at your healthiest and happiest level. And if we can slim down a saddlebag or two in the process, well that would just be the icing on the cake! (And yes, I believe in cake too — in moderation, of course 😉

I’d love to hear from you now.. let’s keep the discussion going! What are your thoughts on this subject? What do you think about these types of headlines and phrases? When you search for workouts, tips, etc what kinds of phrases do you use? What headlines grab your attention most? (No judgements here!)